Explore the unique sights in Halsnæs


Welcome to Halsnæs and our wonderful, diverse sights. Enjoy your visit to cultural centres, historical sights and much more.

Top Sights

Arsenalet is a beautiful half-timbered building, situated centrally in Frederiksværk, and is a section of the Museum of Industry ”Frederiks Værk”. After a large-scale restoration, the building now houses an excibition on the industrial history of Frederiksværk and functions as museum shop and visitor information point for the National Park Kongernes Nordsjælland. 

Arsenalet, an old military depot, was built in 1800 and then made available to The Royal Artillery Corps. On the grand topografic map of Frederiksværk from 1773, the place where Arsenalet is located, was an artillery park made for the cannons constructed at Gjethuset.

Water damage and Renovation of Arsenalet
In 2006, Arsenalet experienced a heavy water and steam damage. All furniture, pictures and smaller items were evacuated to a safe location and unfortunately, the entirety of Arsenalet took damage. Both walls and and floors were soaked and it took weeks to empty the rooms and have them dried up. The many items, if they were salvageable, were sent to a conversation facility for water remediation. The following insurance case dragged out. Every single item were assessed and valued, and a lot were sadly disposed of due to damage.

Since then, Arsenalet has been restored and renovated in accordance with conformity to regulations about old houses. A new heating system has been installed along with a new electrical network and security system. Walls and ceilings were painted, and the beautiful plank flooring planed, ultimately meaning that the Museum of iIndustry is able to present Arsenalet almost as it were, when the army left it and before it was renovated in the 1930s and 1970s.


Visit Asserbo ruined castle - Bishop Absalon's gift to the monks. The ruined castle is situated in a beautiful area in Asserbo Plantation and holds an exciting history full of monks, nobility, fire and shoreline erosion.

Asserbo ruined castle was founded in 1100 as a monastery. It was bestowed on the monks of the Carthusian-order by Bishop Absalon. Later on it was passed over to the Cistercian monks. Noble families Oxe and Laxmand have through time owned it, before it was acquired by the king in 1560 along with the villages of Torup and Tibirke. 

Shoreline erosion hit Asserbo by the end of 1600 to such a degree that the castle had to be abandoned and consequently fell into disrepair. The castle, now buried in sand, was dug free in 1849 by Frederik VII and the moats were filled with the excess sand. The moats were recreated in 1972 by the National Museum of Denmark.
Get a glimpse of the past and enjoy this wonderful corner of Asserbo Plantation and Tisvilde Hegn which surround the ruined castle. 


Gain insight in Frederiksværk's unique industrial history and the town’s importance to the development of Denmark, when knowledgeable guides take you through Frederiksværk's explosive history.
Every summer, the Museum of Industry in Frederiksværk puts forth an array of exciting city walks. Experiencing the city this way, makes the town's remarkable history feel alive around you. The city walks have different themes within the town´s productions of canons, gunpowder, iron and steel, which began around 250 years ago when it became popular to utilize the power from the canals for blacksmith hammers, roller mills and gunpowder mills.

 Experience Frederiksværk through a new lens
The city walks will take you along the canals and through the old streets. You will see historic buildings, learn about interesting people of the period and their influence on the earliest industrial period. The city walks are for both tourists and locals who simply wish to see the well-known places throughout Frederiksværk, in a new (or actually old) light.

At Gjethuset – a place where history and culture live side by side- you can experience concerts, art and canons.

The cultural center Gethuset is the pride of Frederiksværk and the town´s most remarkable industrial building. Gjethuset forged canons for the royal army and navy from 1760 and on. The house was originally built as a foundry, the odd named derived thereof, Gjet is derived from the german word “Giessen” which means to forge. The house has since functioned as the industrial house of Anker Heegard, who produced pots and pans and later De Forenede Jernstøberier, who made the Salamander stove world famous.

The culture centre of the city
In the end of the 1980´s the building went through a comprehensive restoration process and reopened in 1990 as the city's new culture center. Today, the house is buzzing with music, art exhibitions, theater and other cultural activities.

The former canon forge offers concerts of all kind, from grand pop and rock concerts with the hottest new names, to small intimate jazz or classic concerts and popular performances for and by the people. The thick boulder walls also house professional lectures, professional and child theater and other cultural activities, amongst them a clasiscal music festival durings most of juli, outdoor summer concerts with pop and rock and a jazz festival in September. Visit Gjethuset for an experience you won't forget.

The museum of industry Frederiks Værk is the local museum for the Municipality of Halsnaes in Northern Zealand. It runs The Powder Works Museum, The Ironmaster’s Mansion (“Palæet”) and the old military depot Arsenalet in Frederiksvaerk along with a completely different site that is the memorial of the Danish polar explorer Knud Rasmussen in Hundested.

It is a cultural historic museum recognized by the state, which specializes in factory and industrial activity in Halsnæs and Knud Rasmussen's life and function nationally as well as internationally. Knud Rasmussen's House is situated in spectacular surroundings in Hundested close to Spodsbjerg Lighthouse. Here, you can enjoy the fantastic view over Kattegat and inside the beautiful old house you can see how the famous polar explorer worked and learn more on the subject of Knud Rasmussen and his beloved Greenland, through various excibitions.

The museum's primary task is to collect knowledge, items and artefacts from its area, document them, research them and tell their important story to us all. The museum is an active contributor to a lot of the festivals and events in Halsnæs, which relate to the museum's core topics, including the festival Outstanding, Kulturkraft, Knud Rasmussen's Birthday, Greenland's National Day and more. 

Every summer the museum arranges a string of exciting guided citywalks the industrial town of Frederiksværk. 

In Halsnæs, there are several churches with exciting history. Beside their history, they are also active cultural places. Sunday sermons, concerts, theater, and much more can be experienced inside the beautiful churches.

Ølsted Church
In the middle of the 12th century, a church was constructed of natural stone. It contained "the ship" and a smaller choir.
It was most likely put to use in year 1153 under the kings Svend and Knud. Quite a bit later “the ship” was extended towards west, and around mid-15th century extended towards east. Vaulted ceilings replaced the wooden roof. The sacristy was put behind the alter in an extension of the choir. Armories were added in front of the doors in north and south. Around 1590 the tower was constructed on the extension in west. Seen from the outside, the different building styles and materials used through time are visible. Inside you can see the remnants of frescoes, amongst others a portrait of a noble women, Lene Viffert, who belongs to the missing manor Hagelsemagle. A little three-winged side altar is most likely from the same manor.

The altar is from the renaissance, most likely 1620, and contains four small paintings from the old and new testament. The pulpit and the sound heaven are from the same period with Christian the fourth´s monogram at the top. The stands are from 1610 and have 3 different carvings in different conditions, the finer one at the altar. In the tower is two bells, the large tone was made in 1590 and forged by Dalgeber, the smaller one in 1766 and forged in Frederiksværk sporting Christian the seventh´s name.

Kregme Church
Kregme Church is situated beautifully on top of a steep hill between Roskilde Inlet and Arresø. It functions as a landmark elevated in terrain and visible once you approach Kregme.
The oldest part of the curch is from 1150 and made of boulders. At the time it was a small, low building presumably a bell tower of wood stood outside.

In the coming century the church was continually built on with red bricks. The church was extended towards west, windows were made bigger, nave and choir and the added armory were given stepped gable and blind niches, and in around year 1500 the tower joined the building. Due to terrain, the tower was placed on the north side of the choir, which gave Kregme Church its special mark, becoming on of the few chuches with a tower facing east, instead of west. The bells are from 1649 and 1722.
When one steps inside the curch, one'e eye will be caught by the grand brightly coloured window behind the altar. At the church´s anniversary in 1950, the church's inside was renovated and restored, the old altarpiece got a new home in the sacristy, and a large blind niche was put in the choirs gabe and fitted with a glass painting. It features Christ as a world judge.

A glass painting was fitted into the sourthern window as well as the window by the pulpit, the paintings were done by Arist Johan Thomas Skovgaard (1888-1977) son of the renowned painter Joakim Skovgaard, who is known for decorating Viborg cathedral. At the aforementioned restoration and renovation, a new altar table of granite was installed. In 1886 frescoes was found, they were however overwhitened except a Romanesque portrayal of the child murder in Bethlehem (on the northside of the choir). The pulpit was constructed in baroque from 1646 and the clergy chair in 1560.  On the church´s sourthern wall hangs a long memorial poem by the priest Gert Albertsen Schumacher (a relative of Peder Griffenfeld) given as a parting gift in connection with the priests transferal to Elsinore in 1671. Similarly hangs a commemorative plaque for fallen soldiers hailing from Kregme 1850 and 1864.
Situated beautifully with its picturesque exterior, its luminous and cheery interior and the spectacular view from the graveyard out over Arresø, Kregme Church is always worth a visit.

Torup Church
During excavation work at Torup graveyard, a colossal, round stone setting was found in which they found clear evidence of ash. A discovery that supported the theory researchers have that the name Torup is derived from the god name Thor. Others still believe that the name is derived from Towes-Thorp, supported by a few old maps naming the place Toverup.

In around 1100 on an old sacrificial site to the Nordic gods, a church was constructed that still stands, the oldest of its walls (a part of the southern wall around the armory) the same as the day it was made. Furthermore, on each side of the armory, two original Romanesque windows appear.
The tower is from around year 1200 and on the south side, a walled up entrance is visible. Similarly inside the tower is an internal staircase which around 300 years after its construction was replaced by an exterior stairwell on the north side. After a fire, the tower was partly built from scratch in 1839. The bells are from 1747 and 1866.

Inside, by one of the Romanesque windows, well preserved frescoes from around 1250 are visible. They depict Holy Olav and one of his understudies, as well as the expulsion from paradise. In the choir, hints of frescoes can be found, and above the walled in entrance to the tower, is a frieze from the first period. The rest of the stock of items from the catholic time is stored in an adjacent room, amongst other things, a carved Madonna and the child, and a frieze from the pulpit. The crucifix is unique in north Europe. The face has Semitic traits, under a restoration process, inside the head, a note was found carrying the artists name, as well as the year it was constructed - 1320. The crucifix has previously been placed above the choir screen, but has since then gained a place above the altar.

For a period, Constantin Hansens painting, depicting Jesus, blessing the children, been the altarpiece, the painting is now placed by the old granite baptismal font, and the little picture next to it is a sketch for “barnet på armen”. The pulpit is from 1620, the benches from 1627-28, and the clergy chair, now placed in the front of the tower room, is from 1560. The doors by the front row of benches in both sides have had several layers of paint removed, in an attempt to bring them back to their original look.

The entrance door is from the middle ages, and the tithe box is from 1629. The alter chalice was in 1651 made for Hillerød Church, but since the former fell to the wind shortly before, the chalice was sent to Frederiksborg Cathedral, and in 1720 there was a swap between the cathedral and Torup church, since the chalice in Torup church was deemed “too fancy for Torup”, it now rests in Frederiksborg cathedral. 

The frigate ”NEPTUNE” is, according to the church´s logs, donated by one of the parish´s fisherment, in the start of the 1800th century. 
The extension of the building towards north is from 1746, it was constructed by the king with the intention to be of use for cavalry soldiers stationed in the area. *
In the eastern wall sits a corpse stone from 1535, on it is Kirstine Skave and her son Niels Trolle, a brother of Herluf Trolle. The king Frederik the 2th swapped property with Niels trolle, so that he got Bråde Hovedgard (later Holsteinborg) and Halsnæs thereby came under the crown.

The church was renovated and restored in the 1950s and later in 1971-1972 and 1987-1988, during which the roof was renewed and the side rooms ceiling restored to its original look. Furthermore, around 6000 rocks were replaced along with a large number of wall anchors in the tower. The baptismal appletree, located in the side room, tells the story of the children baptised within the last few months, once the tree is filled, the the fabric apples are then “picked” and sent to the baptized children. The heart shape cast iron cross adorned with two angels, stars, a butterfly, and an hourglass, was restored in 1999, it has earlier been stationed at the graveyard.

Lynæs Church
Lynæs Church was consecrated September 8th 1901. The architect behind the church is Andreas Clemmensen. Architect Andreas Clemmensen  took the location and elements into consideration when choosing materials for church, given the desolate and weather bitten, but beautiful, heather covered area.
At the time, the architectural world was strongly influenced by the middle ages and the tower was presumably directly inspired by Tveje Merløse Church´s towers.
Andreas Clemmensen chose to let the church be built in split boulders. By utilizing cleaved boulder in all outside facets, he achieved a rustique character that completely harmonated with the desolate landscape and the sun and sea. Clemmensens building, consists of choir, and main room, along with armory in south, and tower in north.

In 1944 Adam Møller constructed the sacristy. In 1958 architect Rolf Graae doubled the choir in size and extended the building with a side room and a chapel. The extension meant an extra 150 seats thus, with its now 350 seats, Lynæs Church earned its nickname: "The cathedral among village churches". The altar counter, the masonry pulpit with a wooden canopy, and the loose benches made of oak, is all from the renovation in 1958-59.
The baptismal font of limestone, is from the church´s construction. The altar table is made of island limestone. Above it is a crucifix of oak, by Axel Poulsen from 1944. The altar candlestands is from 1724 and of unknown heritage. The altar silver was made in 1714-1724 and donated by the naval ministry in 1894 to the ministry of “Church and Education” who donated silver to poor churches around the country, this benefitted Lynæs at its consecration in 1901.
The painting by the baptismal font depicts an angel with a child, and was made in 1903 by Cilius Anderson.
I the middle of the church´s main room hangs the model ship “Marie”.”Lynæs-jollen” hangs in the side room and is a true copy of the popular and seaworthy dinghy of same name. 
Shipwright Christian Madsen, of Lynæs, gifted the model dinghy for the Church´s 80th birthday in 1981. 

The church organ with 23 voice is an ”Opus 64” from Gunnar Fabricious Husteds Organ factory, and was consecrated in june the 30th 1996. When the church tuned a hundred years old in 2001, money was collected for an anniversary present, for the funds collected, a light globe of cast iron was bought.
In the graveyard, a wall was constructed to honor and memorialize deceased fishermen and sailors. In front of the memorial wall is the beautiful bronze sculpture, made by Svend Lindhart, depicting a mother and child scouting the sea.

Vinderød Church
Vinderød Church is located in Vinderød, northeast of Frederiksværk, with a great view over Arresø. The church was buildt in 1883 following the schematic from Ove Petersen. Previously on the premises was a church from the Middle Ages and later the church by Classen (1795-1883). The burial chapel of Johan Frederik Classen from the church built in 1795 still remains to this day. Inside the church is a marble sarcophagy made by Johannes Wiedewelt containing the earthly remains of Johan Frederik Classen. Peter Hersleb Classen the younger, is also buried here.

The earliest sources date back to 1389, when the bishop of Roskilde transferred the parish´s bishop tithe to saint laurentii chapel in Roskilde. After the construction of the canal between Arresø and Roskilde inlet in 1728, the parish´s numbers increased, and increased again after the canon forgery’s creation in 1756, and the town gaining the name of Frederiksværk.
The owner of the canon forgery Johan Frederik Classen died in 1792 and the church was purchased by His foundation (Det Classenske Fideicommis) on the condition that the king kept the “Kaldsret” (jus vocandi) (The ability of the king to choose who gains the different prominent jobs, formerly a right of the people, but claimed by the king after gained abselute power) and that the church was provided with a suiting extention.
In 1794 the building was made available to the contractor, court architect Andreas Kirkerup, it would be taken down and constructed anew by plans made by conference council Peter Hersleb Classen the elder, brother of J.F. Classen.

If you visit Knud Rasmussen's house, you will understand why he chose to build his summer house exactly there. The house is located by Spodsbjerg Fyr where the surroundings are peaceful and in almost every direction Kattegat is visible. An ideal place for immersion for a nature lover, this was naturally the place Knud Rasmussen prepared himself for several of his expeditions. 
Combine a visit to the museum with a picnic in pristine surroundings.

The House
In 1939 Knud’s widow, Dagmar Rasmussen, handed over the grounds and the house with all its contents to Torup Parish. Shortly thereafter it was opened to the public and has been so ever since.
Helge Bojsen-Møller was the architect, and in drawing up the blueprints for the house he was inspired by the English “cottage style” of the day. Apart from being a renowned architect in Denmark, he had also been at the head of a number of building projects in Greenland. He was an obvious choice for the task.
Some years following the building of the main house an annex was added. This became Knud’s private study and was later connected to the main house via a long corridor.

Experience Greenland in Halsnæs
The house is in itself an attraction and filled with Greenlandic art and items brought home by Knud Rasmussen from his many expeditions. In the house you can experience shifting exhibitions with relation to Knud Rasmussen and Greenland, in the museum shop you can purchase Greenlandic arts and crafts, souvenirs, books about Knud Rasmussen, and much more.

The Powder Works area is part of the Museum of Industry: Frederiks Værk, and consists of a string of buildings of which each them played a role in the production of gunpowder and bullets for Denmark's use in several wars.

It is open for visitors during the summer, where you can experience the many beautiful buildings and educate yourself on the dangerous procceses involved in gunpowder production. In the past, explosions were an ongoing risk and danger, but today the only thing you risk by visiting the powder works is becoming smarter.

Go for a boat trip on the largest lake in Denmark with M/S Frederikke.

In Frederiksværk, you have the opportunity to sail on Arresø with the old tourboat Frederikke. This is the only way to see the beautiful view out over Arresø from seaside, sailing by the outlet of Arresø, where, if you are lucky, you can spot beavers. M/S Frederikke is 12.5 meters long and 4.2 meters wide, a draft of 1.35 meters and a modest weight of 15.2 ton.
Frederikke sails regularly over the summer but outside the season you need to keep an eye out for special tours such as The Fall Tour, The Whitsun Tour and The Nightingale Tour.

M/S Frederikke also offers several kinds of tours, which combine sailing with exciting lectures and walks around Frederiksværk.

Hillerød, Gribskov, Fredensborg, Halnæs and Elsinore counties and the Danish Nature Agency have worked together for more than ten years in an attempt to create a national park in North Zealand which aims to focus on the area's unique nature, cultural history and beautiful landscapes. In 2018 the national park is finally became a reality and will continue to evolve over the coming years. 

The national park aims to combine coastal landscapes, open farmlands, lakes and woods, and contain amongst other things ice age landscapes and special types of nature with protected and rare plant and animal species. In Halsnæs the national Park stretches over Asserbo Plantation and parts of Arrenæs and a stretch of coast between Frederiksværk and Hundested. In addition to the obvious natural areas, the industrial heritage of Frederiksværk is also part of the national park.

The park, as the only of its kind in Denmark, will contain three castles and a sea of manors, monasteries, and other cultural historic attractions with international attractional value. 
Frederiksværk with its unique industrial heritage is included in its entirety in the national park Kongernes Nordsjælland, and in that way, helps by telling a different story about the royal power, the story of war, and the evolution of industrialization.

The impressive building located in Valseværksgade was created by the English copper rollings baron Thomas English, in the start of 1800. He lived there with his familie, and the park in front of the house still carries the traits of an English garden. Behind the house was the large water Powder Works which produced copperplates for the Danish navy and for the royal Danish coin in Copenhagen.

From factory to volunteer center
In 1907 Sjoldborg transformed into a home for the weak and sick. Today, the building is home for the volunteer center in Halsnæs. The park-like garden in front of Skjoldborg is today used as a breathing space in the middle of town for the citizens of Frederiksværk. 

The beautiful classicly built house in the middle of town square, functions as a gate into the history of the town and area. Here you will find the Museum of Industry´s administration and archive.

The Museum of Industry collects, preserves, register and exhibit historic items. The museum collects in particular objects and items which shed light on corporations, organisations and the daily life of industrial community, and items in direct connection to Knud Rasmussen. If you, by some chance, own items of this sort, feel free to contact the museum. Palæet was constructed around 1800 as a house for the inspector at Frederiks Værk.
The state sold the forgery to Anker Heegaard, whose decendants lived in the house through several decades. Since then it has contained “De Forenede Jernstøberiers administration”,  police and judiciary. The county has since then bought and restored the house for the museum's purpose.

Located by the canal is a little yellow turbine house, which since 1930 has been a part of the waterworks, which supplied “De Forenede Jernstøberier” with electricity.
The building is several hundred years old and was previously used as a flow control dam. 
For many years, the turbine house was hidden behind a wall, which has since been removed to let the public see this tiny beautiful building. The turbine house is built across the 300 year old artificially dug canal, which mitigates excess water from Arresø to Roskilde inlet.